Make-A-Wish

This past year I started volunteering with the Make-A-Wish Foundation. I originally thought, it would be a great way to get my foot in the door to work there. After volunteering I am definitely getting more than just my foot in the door.

MAW has been great in the sense that they are very flexible with the areas that you volunteer and they give you a lot of independence. While I have been volunteering with the Wish Ball Event as a team lead for the games/raffles at the event I have learned so much about event planning, getting donations, and the little things that need to be done. It has been a great experience. Because of the flexibilty I am able to volunteer on my own time. It’s pretty great!

Tonight, I attended my first Wish Granting Meeting. Myself and two other volunteers met with an 11-year-old girl and her parents to discuss what her wish would be. Trips were thrown around: Australia, China, India, and Hollywood. celebrity meetings: Lady Gaga. Lady Gaga made things interesting with the mother–I’d be worried too. ultimately she settled with a trip to Australia to visit a TV Show set. I think she will have a wonderful time. The volunteers responsibilities in this will include filling out paper work, making the family happy, and surprising the girl with little extras to get her excited about the trip. Hearing the story from the parents it really puts everything into perspective for why I volunteer. They were extremely grateful and very welcoming of us. I’m really happy with tonight’s experience. 

BTW: If I could have any wish, I would be an ESPN correspondent.

 -Kelly

Leave a Reply

