Crackberry

I’m not the most technology-literate person in my generation, but I can appreciate efficiency. Blackberrys (Blackberries?) are definitely efficient. iPhones are shiny, but I haven’t had a lot of experience with them. Nick brought his crackberry to DC, and it made our lives so much better. For instance, when I gave up and decided to get aloe for my sunburn, he was able to identify the location of the nearest CVS almost instantly. When we had down time to pick a thai place for lunch, he found the ones closest to us AND reviews on Google and Yelp.

Perhaps most crucially, was the wireless internet. We stayed at a hotel most commonly used for business travelers, which means that getting wireless internet in our room would have cost $10/day (outrage, unless you can just put it on your expense report for your employer). But he was able to get a wireless signal for his laptop, through his phone, even without connecting a wire. I know TenaciouslyYours does this at her apartment, too. It is one of the most brilliant inventions ever.

I currently have a lousy phone (although it does synch with my email), but can’t wait to get a crackberry… or maybe by that point I’ll be tech-savvy enough for a Google phone.

-Katie*

Leave a Reply

