Flair

Yesterday I wore a much longer length necklace to work, with a few large beads/faux peals. I had a very, very boring outfit, and wanted to make it slightly more special than “long sleeved Old Navy crew tee with black pants.”

The necklace is something Nick would call “flair.” It started last fall when I bought a felt broach/pin from the No Coast Craft-O-Rama at the Midtown Exchange. I am all about supporting local artists, so my mom and I went. The pin is very well done, in bright but not crazy colors, and in a simple pattern. Since my clothes are all solid colors (no crazy prints or patterns here!) I like having something more interesting as part of the outfit, in a smaller way. Anyways, the pin is perfect, but Nick automatically gave it the nickname from “Office Space.” And now any accessory that stands out get the “flair” label.

But you know what? That just tells me the strategy is working! It’s a statement piece in an otherwise bland outfit. Mission accomplished.

-Katie*

Leave a Reply

