Kuchen

Every trip to South Dakota requires a stop to buy kuchen. Kuchen is a wonderful custard pie type dessert. My Grandpa also happens to live really close to the “Kuchen Capitol of the World”- it’s a win-win.

I tried making kuchen when I was younger, but nothing compares to the YUM-factor that I’m sure some grandma whipped up in her basement. Maybe when I’m 65 I’ll retire to Eureka, SD and make kuchen for the rest of my life.

My favorite part about kuchen is the crust. I’m not a huge fan of the crusty pie crust and kuchen’s crust is thicker and has sweet flavor to it like a cake. I also love the presentation, it’s always on a paper plate! Below is a picture of Apple Kuchen, but they also sell: cottage cheese, blueberry, peach, and prune. -Kelly

Leave a Reply

