Help Wanted!

I need a new hairstyle, because (1) I don’t like frying my hair every other day with the straightener and (2) I don’t want to have the same hairstyle for the next 20 years.

There are two components to this: (1) the actual cut done by the stylist and (2) the maintenance I need to put into its upkeep.

At first I figured, “Since I want to keep my long hair, I’ll just have the stylist cut it with a few more layers in front.” But curling* hair is not an option, since the long hair pulls all the curls, making them stringy and trashy looking. Which puts me back at straightening every other day with that kind of cut.

The idea of cutting my hair is surprisingly difficult. It’s trendy to have long hair, about shoulder blade length, and I’ve worked hard to get it long and in good condition. I find ponytails to be absolutely necessary, and it is very awkward to grow out hair once it has been chopped short.

I talked this through with Martha, and she helped me get to the point where I am seriously considering getting my hair back to this length.

Martha and I poked around the Bumble and bumble website, and came across this one. Probably a little shorter. And I’m definitely not dying my hair.

 

Totally not my picture. Stolen from Bumble and bumble at http://www.bumbleandbumble.com/style_book/look.tmpl?CATEGORY_ID=CAT925

 

 

Of course the whole point of Bb is to get you to buy more product, and I’m wary of doing too much of that! I currently spend ~20 mins blow drying and straightening, and don’t want to go any longer either.

I feel the need to crowd source this, taking into consideration time commitment, ease of maintenance, and cost. Please help me decide if I should go short or stay long, and if I should embrace the curly! Thank you!

-Katie*

*”curling” in this case means using a product on wet hair and diffusing it. I have curlers and a curling iron, but rarely use them for heat, time, hassle, and the same length/weight reasons.

4 responses to “Help Wanted!

  1. I love your hair long–I definitely am a fan of the curly look Kate. Maybe if you’re looking for a new way to wear it, try new headbands, clips, or find some sassy way to wear it up? However, I think you think like me and like it down…

  2. My vote is long hair, for sure. We’re not yet at the point where we lose our minds and chop all of our hair off. I’m not sure when that part happens, but for now, rock the locks.

  3. Ummm this is a toughy. I guess I haven’t seen you for a while so I don’t know how long your hair actually is at the moment. But I would stay long for the winter and then cut it in the spring. Maybe get a few inches off and embrace the curl because in my experience, the curls get weighed down with overgrown/damage hair.

    I’m with ya though. I don’t know what to do with my hair either!

  4. I lost my mind and chopped off all of my hair. I 100% DO NOT REGRET IT!
    I love love loved having short pixie hair, but the growing out process is possibly the worst punishment.

    I like your hair any length, and I am a major fan of the curly. Keepin it real

Leave a Reply

