A Family Tradition

This post is quite late. But better now than never, right?

For my family’s Thanksgiving I made strudles. These are not the strudles filled with fillings and good stuff, they are just straight up strudles. It’s an old German recipe. About 10 years ago my Grandma actually taught me how to make them. I was pretty excited when I got the idea to make them again. I just hope I was able to live up the pressure.

Making strudles are pretty simple. You need flour, baking powder, water, salt, potatoes, and shortening.

Step 1: Mix the flour, BP, salt, and enough water to make a stiff dough.

Step 2: Cut potatoes into 2-3 inch pieces and place in frying pan with shortening. Add water so it’s half covering.

Step 3, 4, 5: Divide the dough into 3 parts. Roll as thin as you can. Spread with Shortening and stretch out as much as you can (Definitely a struggle). Then carefully roll the dough.

Step 6: Cut the dough into 2-inch pieces and place in the pan with potatoes.

*Once you cover the pan keep it covered. This is very important otherwise the strudles fall. The strudles take about 20 minutes, but you need to listen closely to hear the potatoes frying at the end.

When Finished:

I thought they tasted great with the Thanksgiving turkey gravy. I know when my Grandma would make them we would have sausage as well. My Grandpa was pretty impressed that I pulled them off. -Kelly

Leave a Reply

