Movie Monday

The Biggest Surprises

As I made my way through the AFI Top 100 Movies, I knew there would be some movies that I hated and some I loved. The best part about this were those movies that completely surprised me.

The General: A silent movie about a train engineer during the Civil War.  Johnny loses his love after he is rejected to join the Confederate Army. After his train is high-jacked, and his love just happens to be on board, Johnny is able to avenge his honor. The movie is actually pretty funny and the stunts done in the movie are amazing considering the 1926 release date.  Interestingly enough, upon the release of this movie, it received terrible reviews. Now it is considered one of the greatest.

Some Like it Hot: Another comedy that I was pleasantly surprised with. With Jack Lemmon, Tony Curtis, and Marilyn Monroe-this movie was made to be a classic. When Lemmon and Curtis are forced to disguise themselves as women and travel with an all female band, nothing but hilarity can ensue. The lines in the movie have perfect delivery and they have just the right amount of wit that I enjoy. I’ve watched this movie a few times now, and love it every time.

It Happened One Night: I’m probably a sucker for Clark Gable, but this is the perfect romantic comedy! I had no idea what to expect with this one, but I loved it. The theme is timeless, and every romantic comedy to date needs to thank this movie.

Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf: The movie showcases Elizabeth Taylor at her finest. She is raw, emotional, and stunning(even though she gained 30 lbs for the role.  The movie (based on a play of the same name) shows a couple where emotional abuse fuels their lives.  This a great drama filled with wonderful acting and direction. I didn’t think I would like this movie, but the movie is perfect drama and a classic.

Surprises will continue next week!

Leave a Reply

