byebye, carry-on!

Have I mentioned how excited I am that Nick is now in Wisconsin?

Pictured above is reason #328: no more packing a carry-on to visit him. With 15 months of MN-NJ, we had developed a system. Bottles of shampoo, conditioner, and contact solution were left at his place. I would pack a carry-on and the accompanying Ziploc Bag of Death. (Capital letters are necessary here.)

On our last visit, in Chicago, I did not have the luxury of full bottles awaiting me at my destination, so my bag was very full. It included: shampoo, conditioner, contact solution, contact case, sunblock, toothbrush, toothpaste, eyeliner, mascara, lipstick, powder, floss, vitamins, tweezers, emery board, lotion, Qtips, kleenex, and the absolutely non-negotiable earplugs. For the plane. Not Nick.

I would fit everything in the rolly bag (Nick hates rollys and demands a bag you actually have to carry, the horror), bring a purse or my orange go-to bag, and that’s how I would live for the weekend.

While I haven’t completely eliminated flights from our relationship (everyone agrees that I94 between Fargo and Madison in January is a bit too much!), I can now throw whatever I want into my gigantic Honda and see him. This includes hockey skates, a kite, camping gear, etc. With 20 oz bottles of shampoo if I want!

Leave a Reply

