AFI Top 100 (Movie Monday)

I’ve always loved  movies. I think I have my dad to thank for this. We would go to rent movies on Fridays, end up with the maximum amount you could rent and then spend the entire weekend camped out watching movies. I loved it.

When I was a teen AFI (American Film Institute) created the Top 100 movies ever made.  I was instantly intrigued and the list was automatically added to my life bucket list.

Well folks, I’ve finally watched all the movies. I’m not going to tell you what I thought of every movie, but I plan on filling you in on the ones I think you should watch. Believe me, your life will be better and you’ll thank me.

I’ll start with the top five and we can work our way through the list.  All of the top five should be watched. It’s pretty much a no brainer.

1. Citizen Kane. Some people often wonder why this film was picked. I loved it and there is a pretty amazing Simpsons spoof based on it.

2. The Godfather. When you watch the Godfather you must immediately follow with The Godfather: Part II.

3. Casablanca. Oh, Rick. If it were my list this movie would number 1.

4. Raging Bull. Robert De Niro is amazing. If you’ve only seen him in Meet the Parents you have no idea what you are missing.

5. Singing the Rain. I could watch this movie over and over again (and I have). I love the bright cheeriness the movie has.

So this list starts Movie Monday. I hope you enjoy the regular schedule program.

Leave a comment