Feeling very literary

I ended up with a huge stack of library books today.

On Monday I was very bored (despite having wedding presents to make!! eep!) so I went on Google, searched for “book club books” and went down several lists. I read very quickly, so one book a month only keeps me occupied for three or four days. I figured I might as well get a queue going and have a steady stream waiting for me.

But due to the impressive efficiency of LARL (Lake Aggasiz Regional Library), they all showed up TODAY. D’oh. I have tons of books to read now. Which is good. But I really should be working on those presents first…

As Kat mentioned a little while ago, the NYT paywall went up and a strategy had to be devised. But after settling on the Sunday-only subscription deal (and before I actually bought it), I got an email from Lincoln (the automobiles) offering free NYT access for the rest of the year if I just clicked the link. It was just that simple (although I’m prepared for spam from them, or ads featuring just them).

I told this to Kat today, and she informed me that only 200,000 people were offered that deal. That has got to earn me some current events nerd street cred, right?

Leave a comment