Art “collecting”

I am a huge advocate of Adam Turman‘s work. In fact, his is the only original art I own. And of course Kelly’s gift from Ork — I will be buying the St. Paul version soon!

Nick is much more into modern art than I am. I have a hard time understanding it, but when him and his graphic designer friend spend several hours at the Walker and don’t even see the whole collection, I can respect that.

Last spring (wait! two springs ago! wow) I worked on a project for the City that incorporated the artist Romare Bearden, specifically his work “The Block.” It’s gorgeous, gigantic, detailed, and beautiful. I saw it in person at the Met. And Nick got me a book of his printmaking for Christmas. But he’s mostly known for his collages.

He also did a cover for Fortune magazine for their January 1968 issue on “business and the urban crisis.” I had known about this back when I was talking with the Mpls neighborhood activist whose idea it was to incororate Bearden in the first place. For whatever reason, it got in my head this week to see if I could get my hands on one.

Hello, eBay.

$12 + $4 shipping later, I have it!

The magazine is bigger than I thought it would be, so I’ll have to hunt for a larger, acid-free, UV-blocking frame to accommodate it. But I’m so excited to have this “art” on my wall! It’s beautiful, and I can’t wait to further add to my “collection.”

Leave a comment